I’m on my way ….

Standard

At the end of April, exactly a year since my hip was removed completely, we moved our bedroom back upstairs. The week before, buoyed by being able to get over the front doorstep on my own, I decided to try the stairs. Now, with help from my husband, a crutch and the bannister, I get up the stairs and down again a couple of times a day. I can get into my own shower – bliss! – albeit with a shower stool and a bit of help.

The study, where we slept for the past year, on the other hand, is a tip – full of boxes of a year of – well we’ll pack it away and sort it sometime – stuff.

Now I’m back at the gym too. We went a couple of weeks ago just to see if it was possible. I take myself into the changing rooms and to the pool side for a swim in my wheelchair (Short story – I fell a couple of weeks ago while using crutches at home on wet ground. Typically there was no one around and I didn’t have my phone). I can get down the ladder into the pool and swim. Front crawl and back crawl only now. It was odd at first having one float leg that did nothing, but I’ve got the hang of tensing muscles to hold it in place now. Breast stroke isn’t possible with only one leg – I get nowhere!

In the gym itself we had an MOT. Outcome – couldn’t get much more unfit. We also had a PT session to show us the machines and build a programme. Treadmills, cross-trainers, bikes (even recumbent) and rowing machines are out, so my warm up is bouncing on a swiss ball with a pair of 1Kg weights in my hands. It’s hard work! This is followed by shoulder press and arm exercise machines and an abs trainer. 3 x 15 repeats. I did think I should be doing some leg exercise, but by the time I’ve been up and down my own stairs twice, then up and down the stairs at the gym, I reckon I’ve done more that enough of that!

I come home tired but happy. A man at the gym today said to me that it was good to see someone in my position doing something to keep fit. It’s more like getting fit again – and I miss not being able to do the bending and stretching of yoga and Pilates, but I reckon getting whatever parts of me I can fit again is a bonus. 1498494821_fitnes

 

Leave a Reply

