Pottering On

Standard

Having written about unexpected loss a couple of days ago, I’d quite like my life back, and I am now a step closer to that on the mobility front anyway. The knee is extraordinarily painful. It is swollen to half the size of the other leg again from thigh to foot and bruised all over in purples and yellows – Cadbury purple and Coleman’s mustard yellow! From last year’s experience of the hips that will gradually change to Kermit green 😀 I was told a knee was more painful than hip replacements and it is true for the exercises certainly. Very much a cruel to be kind few minutes every hour where I work on pushing my new metal kneecap as far back as possible ( if I’d done this with my old arthritic knee it would have locked!) and try lifting my leg from my knee, which I have finally been able to do since yesterday, and also push and push painfully a centimetre at a time to get a 90 degree bend each time. I’m taking a massive amount of pain relief, even more than pre op, so I just want to sleep all the time |-) On the positive side though, I don’t know if it is because I have already been through this with the 2 hip replacements so recently, or whether I am just used to compensating for a rubbish knee, my ability to move around and manage things is much better than with the hips. There I had so many restrictions on movement because they could dislocate. This time the aim is to sit with my feet up with ice packs to get the swelling down so I am able to get the knee through the hourly exercise regime. It’ s a tough life lying here watching others work 😉 

Work wise I haven’t done a thing. I did feel guilty when I got home but have to try to remember I had major surgery less than a week ago. The major thing I learned last year, going back to work at 6 days post op each time, is online – just because you can, doesn’t mean you should. I’m planning to get back into things gently from tomorrow.

I’m getting into a routine with my husband home just now to help me – I certainly would be struggling to manage alone while still on 2 crutches. We get up and I do some exercises for my knee while he and my sone make breakfast. We go and rest it up with ice packs until coffee time when he leaves it to brew while he helps me in and out of the shower. My mother in law sent down the plastic covering she used for showering when she broke her leg, but actually it stops me washing the rest of my leg and it is only the dressing I need to keep dry, so cling film works just as well with a quick shower. I managed to wash my hair yesterday too.

I’m so exhausted by 6:00pm though I can hardly eat or keep my eyes open. I realised this afternoon I’m going to have to have an afternoon nap and, while I didn’t want to get up from it yesterday, I did feel a lot better and managed to stay awake long enough to watch a film with my husband before bed. I also find that the relaxation eases my back, which in turn eases my knee.

My dressing is yucky, but the hospital prefer you not to change it. It is not oozing anything like it was, but from the outside it looks a pretty disgusting colour. I also think it is contributing to me not being able to bend my knee as much as I need to.

However, the weather is lovely and I’ve been able to spend time outside this weekend lying on a lounger with my book – though mostly in the shade because it is so hot in the sun. I think the increasing tan on my legs may also be a bit of a giveaway that I haven’t been wearing my stockings when I go for my post op check! Summer

 

Leave a Reply

