Unexpected Loss

Standard

I no longer have severe arthritis in my new metal joints! Having got used to something it has gone. 30 years of increasingly having my knee as an issue, in an hour and a half – and after a few months of recovery – it is a new knee. What a very strange feeling.

I wrote recently about the feeling of loss when you find you have a chronic condition – the life that you thought you would have is suddenly taken away. The future looks bleaker and you think of all the things you wish you had done while you still had the chance.

For years I have struggled, or groaned, or cut trips short and my husband and family have said ‘is your knee a problem?’. We decided we couldn’t go to Italy because we didn’t know if I could walk to visit anywhere.

… and it’s gone. I no longer have severe arthritis in either of my hips or my left knee. Ok – I still have arthritis – in my right knee, my spine, my shoulders and elbows, my feet and hands – but the bony spurs in my knee and hips have been cleaned out, the space where once just a short time ago bone was rubbing on bone is now filled with metal and new fluid. 

Admittedly it’s a bit tricky to consider just now while I am still sore and struggling with mobility post op. I have to say though, for all those people who say that having a knee done is worse than a hip, I’m not entirely sure I agree – it is just different and there are different pros and cons to each. Initially it was much more painful than my second hip, but probably not my first – I remember crying with pain then too in exactly the same time frame. While with my hips I had lots of restrictions to prevent me dislocating, I can’t dislocate this so mobility is considerably easier. It may be because I am used to compensating for my rubbish knee but I can bend and twist and reach for things, making managing afterwards much better. 

I’m afraid the stockings are off. It is so warm and they are full length and incredibly uncomfortable. I do feel incredibly guilty. I am exercises and wiggling my ankles like mad. It’s unlikely I would get a DVT. I’m taking my anti coagulants and I only have to take them for 2 weeks as opposed to the 6 weeks expected for a hip – does the say that the knee is not so bad or difficult perhaps? I’m probably moving more than I would on a normal work day. Besides, there is no evidence that the things actually make a difference and I truly believe that insisting on them day and night over a summer for 6 weeks constitutes a form of torture. So they’re abandoned and sitting dolefully on my bedroom floor only to be put back on for physio and my post op appointment and my husband has strict instructions not to give me away. The exercises start again every time I get the slightest twinge in my left calf!

I also have a tummy upset. This is NOT fun.

I’m managing the pain with Tramadol and Diclofenac and ice packs and getting out and enjoying the sunshine. Just looking forward now to our holiday in a few weeks in, as my brother in law puts it – nice flat accessible Devon! – and great choice for someone with arthritis and a new joint 😀 climbing-128

 

 

Leave a Reply

