Home again, Home again, Jiggidy Jig

Standard

I can go home.

I got myself comfortable last night. The physio doesn’t like it much. I found I could adjust the bed to lift my legs and produce the sort of astronaut position I use regularly at home to ease my spine. The last thing the physios want really is for me to be sitting or lying with knees bent because I have to be able to straighten my knee, but they appreciate the knee is not the only issue and I have promised to concentrate especially on the knee flattening exercises. I adjusted the bed to lie flat with my knees bent, took my pain relief and didn’t call the staff again all night – taking myself to the loo once. One of the most tricky bits of getting in and out of bed is doing it with a leg that doesn’t want to bend. The best way I have found to take control of this for myself is to hook my right toes under my left ankle. Then I have complete control over how far my knee moves and the speed at which I do it.

I spent the morning knitting and reading. I still feel pretty nauseous, but I’m not risking my chances of going home. The exercises went well and I reached – just about – the elusive 90 degree bend with some effort. I’m taking the yoga principle of move a bit, relax into the stretch then go a bit further. It takes some time to get the bend, but I guess it will come with time.

I knew I was going to be able to leave about 2:00 and my husband and son were off grocery shopping this morning. I gradually moved around packing my bag and getting myself washed and dressed, ate some lunch (and wished I hadn’t), saw occupational health, had my dressing changed again – the huge amount of bleeding and weeping I have forgotten to mention over the past couple of days is gradually reducing – and went through discharge with Alison, the nurse of particular note this year.

Nurses have not changed over the years. Just in these few days I have met the one who talks about her own stuff to another nurse over you as though you are not there while they make the bed around you, those who talk about themselves anyway and pay little heed to you, those who are bright and chirpy and call you ‘love’ and ‘sweetheart’ with condescension and ooze insincerity – and are usually considerably younger and as yet learned nothing about really being with and listening to their patients. There was one I took to actively avoiding, I was so uncomfortable with him! Nurses really should be made to do counselling and listening skills courses as part of their training. And those like Alison who are older, professional, know what they are doing, listen, understand and do what they can to solve the problems – what nurses should be but are few and far between.

Anyway, 2:00pm and time to go – I couldn’t get out of there fast enough. I had been really well looked after but there is no place like home! house_small

 

Leave a Reply

