Ups and Downs

Standard

Looking towards my first hip replacement in 5 weeks I am filled with feelings that are up and down. 

Even despite my first knee injury, for years we had holidays that involved fell walking and boating, and had no problems at all. I developed hypothyroidism and put on some weight and, while not easy, lost it running at the gym. Then came the micro fracture – and nothing was the same again. I was in pain all the time and over the years it got worse. I was really very envious of all the people I knew who were off walking and doing challenges and I felt that this part of my life was over.

Being increasingly unable to do much aerobic exercise, or anything that had impact on my knee I put weight back on again. Nothing too drastic you understand but enough for my GP then to tell me I was too young, there was nothing to be done but to lose weight. When you have hypothyroidism and a limited ability to move around much that is easier said than done.

The exercise I did carry on was yoga – I have been doing this regularly from being a child and my flexibility, if I say so myself is good. However, over the past year of losing a stone in weight (and you wouldn’t believe how hard that was – and how much harder it was when it stuck there despite all my efforts) I found that my hip and knee pain was getting worse and the yoga I used to do for relaxation was now something that was also very difficult. I could not stretch completely to one side or kneel at all. 

I first realised I was in trouble when I could barely walk back to the car after a quick walk around the Christmas market. I was finding excuses not to go out because I wasn’t sure I could walk that far and back again. By the time of the conferences I mentioned in  my last post, I could see my hotel from the conference centre and it was almost too painful to manage the walk. It was time to do something about it.

Now I research online and I find lots of people who have also been in this position. They have new leases of life. They walk dogs, walk fells, and I am especially inspired by the person who wrote, and I paraphrase, I don’t care about the possible difficulties of revision surgery when this replacement wears out, I want to live now.

So do I. I want to be back on fell tops, but even more just now, I want to park the car and know I can walk to the bank.

Leave a Reply

